After long and careful consideration, I am proud to announce that I have submitted the necessary documents to put my name forward to be Labour’s candidate for the Hull West & Hessle constituency.

I moved to Hull a few years ago, and I am proud to now call this beautiful city my home. Hull West & Hessle deserves a strong Labour voice and somebody who will stand up for their interests in Parliament. I believe I will be the person to do this.

I want to thank Alan Johnson for the last 20 years of service to the constituency and I wish him all the best in the future.

Labour were the party that introduced the NHS, the welfare state, the minimum wage, Sure Start, devolution, the first climate change act, the Open University, maternity pay, paternity leave, the disability discrimination act, the equal pay act, the race relations act, the winter fuel allowance, to name a few. All of these policies have had a positive impact in Hull.

Not only are Labour proud of our past, but Labour offer the policies and a vision which will significantly benefit the people of Hull West & Hessle.

Whilst the Conservatives, Liberal Democrats and UKIP want to see vast cuts to public services, Labour’s message; for a £10 living wage; for free school meals; for public ownership of our railways; for keeping the pension triple-lock; to name few; are policies which will help people up and down the area.

On top of this, I also think it’s time for young people to be heard in politics.

I believe in political diversity. All people from all backgrounds should be represented in politics. However, young people are not represented in Westminster. The needs of the youth are being ignored and, in return, young people are choosing to ignore politics. This may be one reason why voter turnout for young people is so low (it is estimated that around 44% of 18-24 year olds actually turned out to vote last time). This cycle needs to be broken – and having a young person as a political representative can help achieve this.

Labour’s platform will ensure that politics will work for the many, not just a privileged few. I hope I will get to opportunity to be the candidate who will represent everybody, from all backgrounds, in Hull West & Hessle.

Leave a Reply

